Firearms Licensing

To obtain a new firearms license or to renew your license please complete a firearms license application and mail or drop it off at the station. 

All firearms license applications require an appointment so that data may be electronically entered into the Massachusetts Instant Record Check System.

Massachusetts has drastically changed its firearms laws. Stay informed and in compliance by reading the law. If you have any questions or concerns please ask Sgt. Friend Weiler.

Read the Massachusetts Firearms Licenses law here.
 
Please note that electronic weapons to include but not limited to Tasers, stunguns, etc. are not legal in Massachusetts for private citizens.
MGL 140 Sec 131J: Whoever violates this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment in the house of correction for not less than 6 months nor more than 21/2 years, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

 

Updates to the pepper spray licensing law. Adults (18+) no longer need a FID/LTC to carry pepper spray. (There are some restrictions, please review the law)
 

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Friend Weiler Firearms Licensing Officer (781) 934-5656 ext. 1122
Feed